Interview with author and poet – Mariah E. Wilson

Interview with Mariah E. Wilson, author of “We Walk Alone – A Collection of Poems”

WalkAlonefront (1)Every now and again, I’ll run across a piece of literature, or in this case a collection of poetry, that is so inspiring that the best way I can think of to share my enthusiasm for it is by getting to know the author. After reading each piece in the collection contained within the pages of We Walk Alone, I was treated to an opportunity to meet with Mariah and learn a few things about an author with a style all her own.  For those interested, my review of We Walk Alone is posted here on this blog. We’re so lucky to have Ms. Wilson with us to provide some insights about her creative talents, so let’s get started:

Q: Could you tell us what best describes the genre for the collection in We Walk Alone?

A: It’s hard to assign my poetry with a genre, especially an entire collection. Some of the poems have a bit of romance, others are filled with loss, some are silly, it’s a broad scope of genre’s really.

Q: You’re married with children and yet some of the poems and the title you’ve given the collection suggest experiences of solitude and in some instances loneliness.  Where would you see the inner themes of your work and the experiences from your family life collide?

Author and Poet Mariah E. Wilson -  Pictured with her family

Author and Poet
Mariah E. Wilson –
Pictured with her family

A: You can see my work and family life collide in the poem ‘Broken Toys’, which was inspired by one of my children. Being alone and being lonely are two different things. I think one of the greatest things we can teach our children is how to be alone, but not be lonely. There is much to be said about being able to enjoy the pleasure of one’s own company and not needing to rely on others all the time.

Q: How old were you when you set out on your first adventure in writing poetry? Could you comment a little more about why you write and maybe give us some background on any formal education you’ve engaged in with the creative arts?

A: I was in grade four and my teacher had the class write a poem for a creative writing assignment. My poem was written in rhyming couplets and though I can’t remember the whole thing, it did involve a nun, Al Capone and a bar, so it was pretty epic.

I write because I like to. I publish because it’s fun. There’s really no other reason. Sure, at times my poetry has helped me deal with things and process emotions when I’ve been overwhelmed, but I write even when I don’t need to, so I can’t count that as the reason I keep doing it. I keep doing it because it’s one of my greatest joys.

I actually don’t have any formal education beyond high school. I did graduate with honours and I do a lot of reading whether it be fiction or non fiction, reading helps. I learn a lot by reading.

Q:  I read my copy of We Walk Alone on a Kindle.  One of the first things I noticed about the various pieces in the collection was the unique visual presentation of how the stanzas appear to the reader. As an example, the poem “We Walk Alone” is presented in the first third of the collection and offers a reading experience, very different than what I’ve seen in other poetry collections. Since a Kindle allows the reader to select various font sizes, would you say that this collection is better suited to a printed version so that the reader can gain the complete experience you had in mind?

A: The only thought I give to font is if it can be easily read. I think the collection could be equally enjoyed in any format. I’d like to think that it’s a good piece of work that is easily able to stand on its own, no matter the format it’s read in.

Q:  I found myself re-reading some of the pieces and even trying out how they feel when reading them aloud.  Have you done any readings from this collection?  If so, can you tell us what sort of reaction you received from the audience?

A: I read all my poetry aloud, alone, in my computer room when everyone else is sleeping. I’m not opposed to the idea of doing a reading, but I have yet to perform one.

Q:  For a change of pace – When was the last time you said or did something that caused you to laugh at yourself?

A: I laugh at myself every day. I was taught from a young age “those who can learn to laugh at themselves will never cease to be amused.”

Q:  Tell us three random things about yourself that you’d hope would make us laugh:

A: I’m not sure these are funny, but they are random.

I’m a 31 year old woman who still has just about every single stuffed animal she’s ever been given.

When I was in grade 1 I got on stage with my class to perform for the school. We were all supposed to sit down on the benches, but I missed and fell over backward, flashing the whole gymnasium my underwear in the process.

Sometimes I watch movies that I know will make me cry, just so I can cry.

Thank you so much Ms. Wilson, for opening a window for us to discover what it is to be a poet with real talent. We wish you the best and great success with your collection We Walk Alone. I’m looking forward to hearing more about the successful launch of this collection and your future adventures as an author.

Look for more about Ms. Wilson, her writings, and events, at the following locations:

Facebook

Mariah E. Wilson’s Blog

Mariah’s publisher – Writers AMuse Me

Mariah’s Goodreads page

We Walk Alone will be available for purchase on Amazon. Release date is 22 August 2014.  In the mean time – enter the author’s book giveaway on Goodreads

 

This entry was posted in Author Interviews, Blogging, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with author and poet – Mariah E. Wilson

  1. Pingback: Best Books of 2015: Top 5 plus honorable mention | Gregory S. Lamb – PDX Author

Leave a Reply

