Book Release Party Stop: Interview/Book Review – Candy Ann Little, Author of “Murder of an Oil Heiress”

Murder-of-an-Oil-Heiress-Tour-BannerToday I have the distinct pleasure of sharing both my review of a highly entertaining piece of fiction as well as an interview with Indie Author, Candy Ann Little.

Candy Ann, this is my first time hosting another Independent Author during a release party and blog hop, and I’d like to thank you for providing everyone with  the insights about your writing process and your thoughts regarding the release of your latest novel. Personally, I thought it was a barn burner written in a popular genre that you seem to be pretty experienced with, so let’s get started:

Q: Would you mind giving readers a quick overview of the plot line for “Murder of an Oil Heiress?”

A: Mallory Dillingham wants to take over the family oil business. She also wants her sister’s husband, Joe. She’ll stop at nothing to get what she wants including: lying, blackmail and seduction.

As she wages war on everyone, innocent people will pay the price. Can her family overcome the destruction caused by her devious plot?  Will her actions led to murder?

Q:Where and how did you decide on the theme and setting for your novel?

A:  I wanted to set it in a state that is well known for oil, and, since I loved the 80’s TV show Dallas, I choose Texas. 

Q: Who or What inspired you to write this book?

A: This story is based on a dream I had. My friend Rosalie was always telling me to write a love scene that wasn’t Christian. She wanted something steamy. So I used a scene out of my dream and sent it to her, totally as a joke. She loved it and sent it to a mutual friend, Lori. They both kept telling me I should make it into a book. So I did!!

What genre would you say is a best fit for “Murder of an Oil Heiress?”

A: It’s a mystery, although not a traditional one. It also deals with love, betrayal, forgiveness and the bonds of family.

Q:  How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

A: Two years. I wrote the first 8 chapters in a year. Then took a break for six months. Then I wrote the next 8 chapters during NaNoWriMo. And it took several months to finish the last chapter because I couldn’t figure how to tieeverything together.

For those unfamiliar, NaNoWriMo is short for the National Novel Writting Month, that takes place every November. The misnomer is that NaNoWriMo isn’t just “national,”  it is global and is happening all over the world, right at this very moment.  

Moving on, 

Q: How did you decide on the point of view you used to present your characters?

A: I always use more than one point of view. I like having different perspectives. I especially wanted both Mallory’s and Joe’s POV in this story.

Q: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

A: Books by Mary Higggins Clark

Q: Who do you think should pick up a copy?  Maybe you could tell us a bit more about how you decided on your target audience.

A: Of course I’m going to say that everyone should pick up a copy. I do have bills to pay. LOL!! But seriously, I’m a newbie to this genre, so not quite sure how to answer. I feel it is geared more to woman because of all the emotional stuff going on. I also warn my Christian friends that it’s not a Christian book. Since my other books are Christian orientated, I don’t want someone reading this and getting offended.

Q: I read almost everything on my e-reader these days. Is there an eBook version?  What about other media such as audio books?

A: Yes, you can download from Amazon, B&N and Smashwords.

Q: Are you working with a publisher specializing in partnerships with independent authors?  As an Indie, others will want to know what your publicity and marketing Strategy is.

A: My publisher, Inknbean Press has a great reputation for working with indie authors. That is why I choose them. I have 3 self published books and my publisher has helped me with promoting them even though they aren’t published by them. We haven’t done much with marketing yet. They will be using FB and Twitter. They are also sending out press releases and announcements in newspapers. However, as an author it is still my job to market as well. Thankfully I’m not shy and have no problem talking about my books!!

Well, Ms. Little, I think I could probably interview you all evening and continue to learn more from you about how one might succeed as an indie author.  You’ve certainly shown us all what is in the art of the possible and I thank you so much for sharing your insights with us.

For readers interested in taking advantage of the Book Release Party festivities, here are some links:

RAFFLECOPTER for GRANDPRIZE — http://bit.ly/1gFB6Qe

Where to get a copy of your own on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Murder-Oil-Heiress-Candy-Little-ebook/dp/B00GM5918E/

Murder-3D_zps34633fdbMy 5 Star review of “Murder of an Oil Heiress” can be read on Amazon, or you can read it right here:

Wow – Dallas Revisited – This Time on Steroids

In the opening passage of this dramatic romp that echoes back to the days of the popular 80s TV drama “Dallas,” readers will enjoy getting to know each of the cliche’d characters that make up the dysfunctional rich family running the business of America’s oil.

The Dillingham family live together in a large home on the Gulf Coast of Texas. The patriarch, Richard is a widower as a result of the youngest daughter, Sarah’s birth. Brother Robert and older sister Mallory, the despicable antagonist, are the instruments of drama that author Candy Ann Little sets in motion from the first steamy sexually charged passages. Poor Joe Barnes, the blue collar outsider married to Sarah, plays the melodramatic victim to the sex charged wiles of Sarah’s older sis, Mallory. The title almost gives away who eventually is murdered is in this “You just can’t put it down” mystery drama.

As the story comes to a climax, every character is a suspect. It isn’t until the final pages that we find out who’d done it and why.

Candy Ann Little is a master of using drama and a staccato style dialog combined with a weaving of plot elements that will keep you reading. As the story came to a head, it evoked emotions that made me feel like I was watching a noir detective interrogation. The plot seemed to accelerate along with my pulse. Plan for a sleepless night, because you won’t want to put this one down until you find out who’d done it.

This entry was posted in Blogging, Novels, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

