Book Review: ICE Blue by indie author Susan Rae

Five Stars of Cold Entertainment!

Aptly titled, “Ice Blue” is an action packed page turning mystery thriller with a steamy romance thrown in to keep things interesting. Susan Rea drops the reader right into the middle of the action with tension and suspense that builds and builds.

Rae tackles an important theme and uncovers the ugliness of human trafficking in this story that takes place during a Chicago winter. When the lovely and capable paramedic, Angela DeLuca arrives at the scene of an accident on an icy highway, she meets up with ICE agent Troy Deavers. Their paths cross several times before Angela and Deavers end up in a predictable and cliche’ romance. When Angela finds an abandoned baby on her doorstep, the mystery of where it came from begins.

I really enjoyed the tension between all of Rae’s characters, but I especially appreciated the courage this author took to expose an important issue plaguing our society. Rea is my hero for placing the human trafficking issue in the United States at the forefront of good fiction. James Patterson can stand aside as I can’t wait to read the third volume of the DeLuca series when it comes out next year.

Thanks Susan Rae for providing me with a review copy.

This entry was posted in Novels, Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book Review: ICE Blue by indie author Susan Rae

  1. Amen to the courage. we need more authors like this

  2. So glad you liked the book, Greg. Thanks for the great review! And, thanks for the comment on the courage, but I admit, I really didn’t think of it that way. I just thought it was a story that needed to be told and I tried to find a way to put my own twist on it and make it something readers could empathize with. Although, I did feel it was going out there a bit, which is why I did a lot of research on the subject before I wrote ICE blue.
    If anyone would like to read more about ICE blue and the DeLuca family, please visit my website at http://www.susanrae.com

  3. Pingback: Interview with Susan Rae, author of “The DeLuca Family Series” and other | iSTAR – I Support the Arts Revolution

Leave a Reply

